Refrigeration

In the middle of the night I venture downstairs with the intention of making a salami sandwich as a midnight snack. I have not eaten in several days and am dismayed to discover that my fridge-freezer has broken and all my food is now rotten.

I must buy a new one and so make a trip to the local refrigerator shop. I am looking for a big, tall one as, although I live alone and rarely eat I hope that a tall fridge may help to intimidate potential burgulars. After searching for several hours I find a suitable appliance tucked away in a dark, dusty corner of the shop. The assistant tells me it is a very good fridge.

I take it home and fill it with all manner of perishable goods but then do not visit it for another month and a half. To my surprise I find that all the food remains as fresh as the day it was bought. I take an apple and close the door for another month. When I open it again the food remains fresh.

It is at this point that I realise this fridge has the power to completely stop the ageing process. I have always been extremely interested in what the future holds and so I abandon my current work and throw myself wholeheartedly into this new project. I empty the fridge of all food, shelving and compartments, put some books in and then climb in myself.

For several years I remain sat in my fridge. As I am a slow reader the books keep me well entertained.

One day however I become alarmed as I can feel my fridge begin to move. I sit and listen as two men shuffle it out of my house and seemingly into a van. I try to move but discover that as I have been sat in one place for so long my joints have completely seized up. I can make a feeble ’uh’ sound but that is all and is pretty useless as the men have the radio on loud.

I do not recognise the song that is playing as I have been sat in a fridge for many years and am a little out of touch.

They drive for a while and then the fridge, with me in it, is lifted up before falling, crashing a long way to the ground. I surmise that we have been taken to the tip. I am left there forever with the kind of people who tried to climb into their television to join in and those who have tried to keep themselves warm in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

