Any Freak Shaped Vegetable

It would be a pointless exercise to describe the carrot I had found but needless to say it was exactly what I had been looking for.  My search had lasted for about half an hour and taken several grocers but this would do the trick, I knew it.

It would be just like the happy day I found the courgette shaped like a hammer or that time when the potato had Arnold Schwarzenegger’s face.  You were so pleased, I didn’t question it.

I was checking for tears on your eyes every other day on the even numbers and of course you were secretly crying your eyes out every other day on the odd numbers.  It made life very difficult and I didn’t know what to do.  Apart from the one thing that seemed to make you smile.

The night I brought home the carrot you fell asleep with a smile on your face even though it was the eleventh.  I slept deeply and peacefully too, my slumber wrapped in a feeling of hope for our future which was forged by your words when I presented you with your present –

“Ha ha, thunderbird three.”

Leave a Reply

