From the archives…

The light shines for me.
Not you, my little friend.

I found your body in the morning,
Your limbs crumpled on the carpet,
Frail and lifeless.  You flew too high.

Last night you had danced
Around and round the sun
Legs splayed in peculiar movements
Weightless, unbound, fun.
Quick and nimble, light and floaty,
You explored a universe in my room
Yet got too attracted to the light
And there you met your doom.

I picked you up by the legs
Held you in the palm of my hand
Wanting to tell the other insects.

I performed a wake beside my bin
Said goodbye and dropped you in.

Ric Carter, 2002.

Leave a Reply

