26 & A Half

For my birthday she
Gave me an anotated atlas
With detailed notes about the first
Twenty six and a half years of my life.

‘March 2008 – you walked up this hill in the rain.’
‘May 2005 – you flew over these mountains’
‘July 2007 – the sun was here, you were here
and you took this picture of me standing here.’

Pinpoints and arrows and busy scribbled notes
Photographs taped on wherever there was space.

“It might be the truth or it might be something else,”
said my secret cartographer.  “I don’t know.”

Something else, I repeated
and looked at everywhere I had been.

Leave a Reply

