Envelope Book Thing

I like making books.  And I like making envelopes.  I also sometimes write things down on tiny bits of paper and then have to find somewhere to stick them so they don’t get lost.  On top of all that, I sometimes like to cut things out of newspapers or magazines and these cuttings form little piles which I fall over when I get up in the middle of the night to write something down on a small piece of paper.

Something had to be done to solve all of these problems (and the envelope-making is a problem because I probably have over a hundred unused handmade envelopes sitting around and it is getting ridiculous), and so behold the Envelope Book Thing.  That’s what I’m calling it.

It is a hardback book in which all of the pages are envelopes, bound together to form a handy stuff-keeping recepticle.  I used envelopes which I had made from a variety of sources – magazines, old calendars etc. – which gives the book a bright and jumbled look.  In order of appearance, the envelopes depict: Scout Niblett, Alan Moore, Beth Ditto, the Hitcher from the Mighty Boosh, Willow from Buffy the Vampire Slayer, a Roy Lichenstein illustration, an illustration of a war demonstration, He-Man, Hiro from Heroes and a picture of garish 1970s living room.  I think that if I make another one of these it might be themed but as a first go I just used a random selection.  The paper used for both the cover and as endpapers is from a Green Stack of recycled papers from DCWV, which some kind people gave me for my birthday.

Enough waffle, here are some pictures:

That’s how it looks, but how does it feel?  Well, I’m quite happy with it, though I think it is a bit too tight – it doesn’t quite open the way I would like it to.  And it may be a touch wonky.  As I plan to use this myself I’m not too worried but its something I will have to sort out if I make more.

4 thoughts on “Envelope Book Thing

    • Thanks! It took quite a while to make so not sure how many of those I’d do but I’ll definitely think about it. Soon!

  1. That’s a pretty cool thing, Ric. I’m not sure I’d have much use for it myself, but it does look ideal for storing small pieces of paper. And possibly After Eight mints, too.

    If I can offer a (terrible) suggestion for a name, you could call it an enveloportfolio.

Leave a Reply

