The Family Surveillance Unit

I went up to my bedroom one night and found a strange man sitting cross-legged on my bed.  He was not a big man but he looked very elusive, as if fighting him would be like trying to take on a shadow puppet ghost story.

Before anything fighty could happen there was a knock at the window and when I drew back the curtains I found another man crouched there on the sill.  The man on my bed went to join him and a third man crawled out from under my bed.  They all climbed out into the night sky and walked off arm in arm, silhouetted against the moon until they grew smaller and smaller and eventually disappeared.

Back in my room, I began to feel as though all my things were not really my things after all.

Leave a Reply

