The Family Surveillance Unit

First the room was full of primary colours, the walls painted with toys.  Everything was bright and unusual and I, soft-headed and warm.  Then time, light and dust faded the colours and mould started to creep through, speckling first until speckles grew between the speckles and it became one mass of dull green.  Moss began to grow through the wallpaper.  Mum shouted up the stairs that it was time for dinner and I went down the stairs and filled my face with food.  When I returned to my room, the walls were riverbanks and my bed was floating downstream, gently butting against the doorframe.

Leave a Reply

