Day #11007

April & May Round Up

I didn’t round up April in April and so, before May goes the same way, here’s a quick joint update on the few things that have been going on that are updateable.

Screen Shot 2014-04-15 at 20.02.12

Since my birthday I am now electric!  And I’ve been using my e-reader to catch up on some short story collections I’d been meaning to check out – the picture above shows Hassan Blasim’s The Madman Of Freedom Square, Karen Russell’s Vampires In The Lemon Grove and Junot Diaz’s This Is How You Lose Her.  I was quite pleased with the picture I managed to put together to illustrate this, so for now I’m going to let pictures do the work, and return to do some rambling another time.Screen Shot 2014-05-26 at 19.22.30

For myself and, I imagine, a number of aspiring Brit-based short story tellers we are now into the curious part of the year in which nearly all of those prestigious South West-based competitions are closed and it is a case of waiting to see whether we managed to impress anyone this year.  There are still five days to get something in for the Bridport Prize, then a few months of glancing warily towards Bath, Bristol, Bridport and Plymouth.

P1030462

The third Guernsey Literary Festival was a fantastic weekend on the island.  There was a TARDIS in the library.  There were lots of people talking, performing, chatting about books.  There were some people doing some writing in sunny little rooms.  I wrote about it here and here, so instead of repeating myself I’ll just point you in those directions and also to the post previous to this – a piece that I was proud to have performed as part of the Saturday night’s ‘Literary Cabaret’.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

